Exposed to You by Beth Kery

exposed to youPrevious to this I had read Beth Kery’s Because You Are Mine series and enjoyed it, so I was excited to read another novel by her.  As I started it, I realized that I had read the first chapter of the book as a preview (probably in the last book in the other series).  And when I had read it, I hadn’t been sure about reading this novel because in that chapter, the heroine has just found out that she has cancer.  That knowledge is one of the things that leads her to do something totally out of character with an unknown actor whom she had been painting a body tattoo on.  But since I had the novel, I decided to give it a try and I am glad that I did.

Following that scene in the first chapter, the book skips ahead to the following year, after her treatments are finished, where Joy realizes that that “unknown” actor was actual superstar Everett Hughes.  Everett has not let his superstardom go to his head, but he has a lot of trouble convincing Joy to trust him and their developing feelings for each other.  Joy must learn to live with the fame that comes with dating a superstar if she wants the relationship to continue, and must learn to trust that he is as genuine as he seems to be.  But when a cancer scare returns, she reverts to her old ways and runs, and he must figure out where she is and prove to her all over again that he will stay by her side through the good times and the bad, even if she doesn’t want him to have to go through the bad times with her.

I liked that the hurtles in this relationship weren’t just a jealous ex-lover making waves, but a situation that could happen to anyone.  Joy’s love for Everett makes her not want him to have to experience what she went through caring for her mother dying of cancer.  It just made this book seems very real, while still portraying a dynamite love story.

Leave a Reply

