Darius by Grace Burrowes

DariusIn a recent discussion I had about romance authors, Grace Burrowes name came up and I realized that I had a few of her books as digital advance reading copies through NetGalley, so I decided those were the books that I was going to read next.  I had read one book by her before and enjoyed it so I figured I would enjoy her others also.  And I did.  

Darius is the first book in the Lonely Lords series. The book is set in the Regency period and is about Darius Lindsey, who sells himself for ladies entertainment because his funds have been cut off by his father.  He is approached by an elderly viscount who needs him to impregnate his lovely younger wife before the viscount passes away.  At first I was a little creeped out thinking that Darius was no better than a male prostitute, but somehow found it better that he did not let the women have sex with him.  

The viscount’s wife, Lady Vivian, and Darius begin their time together tentatively getting to know one another before they begin a physical relationship.  Though Darius comes to care for Lady Vivian, he does not feel worthy of a relationship with her.  Even with the viscount’s passing, and Darius knowing he wants to be a part of his child’s life, Darius and Vivian do not have an easy time getting together.  Complications also arise from some of Darius’ past “relationships”.  Overall the love between Darius and Vivian is a touching story and I really enjoyed it.  

I liked the main characters in this story.  And now I am interested in reading the stories of some of the secondary male characters in their own books.  

Leave a Reply

