Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeffry Lindsay

Darkly Dreaming DexterBefore picking up this book, I already knew that Dexter was a serial killer along with being a blood spatter analyst.  I’ve never watched the television series, but somewhere along the line I think I had heard about it.  Darkly Dreaming Dexter is the first book in the series.   I wasn’t sure that I was going to like it, but somehow Lindsay manages to make Dexter relatable as the hero of the series.  And I’m really not sure how.  But I did find myself liking the character.  Maybe it’s because he is attractive and charming, and admits to himself that he isn’t quite human like the other people around him.  I loved the way he tried to figure out what emotions he was supposed to be feeling if he actually had real human emotions.  The thing that probably does it for me is that he only kills bad people, people who are preying on the weaker members of society, and somehow that makes it seem not so bad overall.  Maybe its my love of vampire books that helps me to see the logic in that, not that I condone it in real life, as there are quite a few vampire books out there where the hero of the story only drinks blood from the members of the underbelly of society.

In this book Dexter is caught between admiring the artistry of the killer the police are trying to catch, and helping to catch the killer and thus advance the career of his sister who is one of the cops working on the case.  He also finds himself questioning if he could be losing his mind and actually not be aware that he himself might be committing these crimes.  The book overall is well-written and even humorous at times.  The mystery of the serial killer keeps you guessing for a while, though I did guess who it turned out to be in the end.  Overall I would recommend this title, especially if you are looking for something a little different in your next mystery and its protagonist.

One Response to Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeffry Lindsay

  1. Excellent site you have here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

