The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel by Diana Gabaldon

I was sooo excited when I heard that there was going to be a graphic novel based on the first book in the Outlander series.  I pre-ordered it on Amazon.com months ago and it arrived today!  I sat down with it as soon as I opened it and finished it within a couple of hours. 

First I need to explain that Diana Gabaldon is my all-time favorite author.  Her books are well-written and engrossing.  But they defy description.  They are romantic fiction, historical fiction and also science fiction (for the time-travel element).  I, like many many others, eagerly await the next book in the series, which come out every couple of years.  I have read Outlander close to a half-dozen times and read each of the others at least twice; I usually re-read the last book right before the newest one is due out.  The seven books in the series so far are: Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, and An Echo in the Bone.  It will be a while before another book in the series comes out, and that’s part of why I was so excited to get to revisit Claire and Jamie in graphic novel format.  There is also The Outlandish Companion, a companion volume to the series, which is in serious need of updating as it does not cover the last couple of books.

Now for the review of The Exile.  The first thing that needs to be made clear for Outlander fans is that this is a new story, not a simple re-hashing of the first part of Outlander.  It does cover the events of the first part of the book, but it is told from a different point of view.  So we get to see some things that Claire does not experience first-hand.  The second and very obvious thing is that it is a graphic novel and, as such, the depictions of Claire and Jamie will most likely not match up with your mind’s imaginings of them.  Once I got past that and accepted how they were depicted, I got caught right up in the story and I loved it!  I am hoping that we see more of the Outlander stories in the graphic novel format.  I am not sure how this book would be received by someone unfamiliar with the Outlander series, but for fans it is a must-read.

Leave a Reply

