Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I’m a little behind on my book reviews, so I’m going to try to catch up. 

I read Catching Fire as soon as it came in at the library.  I finished it in a couple of days, but I do think the first book was better.  This one continues the story where the first book left off.  It begins with Katniss and Peeta back in District 12, getting ready for their Victory Tour.  She meets with President Snow and realizes the depth of his hatred of her; the districts see her as a symbol of rebellion, inspired by what she did at the end of the Hunger Games.  She and Peeta end up in another Hunger Games, a special edition of them to celebrate their 75th anniversary.  Over the course of the book, Katniss is at first uncomfortable with the attention that is paid to her in the districts, but later comes to embrace her role as symbol of the rebellion.  The book leaves off with some rumors about the “destroyed” District 13 and hints of the widespread rebellion to come in book three.  I am still awaiting the third book; when I checked when I finished this book I was about 75th on a list of 175 holds!

Leave a Reply

