The Nancy Drew Graphic Novel Series

#1 The Demon of River Heights

#2 Writ in Stone

The Nancy Drew Mystery Stories that I grew up with are still around on library shelves (and I still have all of mine in a plastic bin in my basement).  But what else I discovered on my local library’s shelves were a series of graphic novels based on my old childhood favorites.  While these are entirely new mysteries, all of the characters from the originals are there – Nancy, Bess, George, Ned, Nancy’s father Carson Drew, and even Chief McGinnis.  But the stories have definitely moved into the 21st century with cell phones, computers, digital cameras, and Nancy even drives a hybrid (which she keeps forgetting to fill with gas!)  While the stories seem a little too easy to solve compared with the mysteries I remember (of course I was much younger then), they were interesting and would be a great introduction to the original books for girls of today.  If you are/were a big Nancy Drew fan, take a look at this graphic novel series and see if their version of Nancy Drew matches up with the images in your mind.

Leave a Reply

