The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Our bookclub book pick for July was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and after hearing so much hype about how good it was, I couldn’t wait to start it.  I even had a friend who told me that as soon as I started reading the first one I would be so hooked that I wouldn’t stop until I had finished all three books in the trilogy.  Well, I think all of the high praise that I heard may have created an expectation for this book that it couldn’t possibly have lived up to, and as I started reading it, that is definitely how I felt.  The beginning of the book was a little slow, but it got much better the more I read, until it finally got so good that I literally didn’t want to put it down and stayed up very late the other night trying to finish it. 

The story begins with the conviction of Mikael Blomkvist, which makes it appear that his career as a journalist is over.  He receives an offer from the patriarch of a well-known Swedish industrialist family, asking him to work on a murder mystery that is many decades old under the cover of writing the family’s history.  He accepts the offer and uncovers a host of horrifying family secrets with the help of a young hacker named Lisbeth Salander, the tattooed girl of the title.  Mikael and Lisbeth make an odd couple, but they form a bond that goes beyond the job they are trying to do.  When I finished this book, I did immediately pick up the next one, as I am now very hooked on finding out more of Lisbeth’s background and history, and the future of Mikael and Lisbeth.  While I don’t think I’ll be adding to the overblown hype surrounding this book, I do recommend The Girl with the Dragon  Tattoo as a really good, though slow starting, book to read.

Leave a Reply

