The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

I’m not sure this qualifies as a review because I didn’t finish the whole book, but for someone who used to always finish whatever I started, that is something of a review in and of itself.  My new philosophy is to give a book about 100 pages to catch my interest.  I gave this one 114 and had to keep forcing myself to pick it up.  I’ve decided that there are way too many books out there that I want to read to waste a lot of time reading ones that I don’t.  And this is one that I am not wasting any more time on.  While I actually liked the characters, I found the lack of dialogue off-putting and the whole book to be pretentious.  I honestly am amazed that this book spent a year on the NYT best-seller list.  The book was actually my book club’s selection for June and even the members who actually finished the book didn’t seem totally happy with it, especially with the ending.  I have to say that I won’t be recommending this book to anyone.

Leave a Reply

